Spring 2013 Concerts and Activities Preview

The Spring 2013 semester at Ole Miss will begin on Tuesday (January 22). This is a week later than many colleges and universities, the break having been extended in order to accommodate more January intersession courses. I am happy to have had the extended respite from teaching, however, as this semester’s schedule promises to keep me working at a frenetic pace from beginning to end. I am teaching one more class than I did last semester and several more applied students, in addition to a very full performance and presentation schedule. Today I am going to discuss several of the highlights of that schedule.

Saturday, January 26: University of Memphis Low Brass Workshop

Back in November I played a couple of concerts with Dr. John Mueller, who teaches trombone and euphonium at the University of Memphis. Dr. Mueller asked if I was interested in bringing one of my low brass groups from Ole Miss to perform at the workshop, and I readily agreed to bring the trombone ensemble. Given that this is a very new ensemble on our campus (at least in its present incarnation—there hasn’t been a trombone ensemble at Ole Miss in 20 years or so, to my knowledge), a performance in front of colleagues and students from other colleges and universities in the region is, well, a “big deal,” and we will be putting in plenty of extra work during the first week of school to get a program polished quickly. While I have not yet solidified our concert program, the working “Program to be selected from” list is as follows:

  • Saskia Apon (b. 1957): First Trombone Quartet
  • Jeremy Dibb (b. 1960): Provence
  • Eric Ewazen (b. 1954): Great Lakes Octet (selections)
  • Andrew C. Fox (b. 1935): Fanfare for Trombones
  • Walter Hartley (b. 1927): Canzona for Eight Trombones
  • Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), arr. Donald Miller: Achieved is the Glorious Work

Our program will be relatively brief, as we are sharing a concert with groups from a couple of other schools. Nevertheless, we are happy to be participating, and are looking forward to spending the day participating in clinics and workshops, as well as in an ensemble reading session, which will include my arrangement of Salvation is Created by Pavel Tchesnokov (1877-1944) for four trombones, two euphoniums, and two tubas. My only disappointment is that we will have to miss the workshop’s Friday activities due to a conflict at Ole Miss.

Monday, February 11: Faculty Recital Series—Micah Everett and Stacy Rodgers

On Monday, February 11, I will be joined by my colleague, pianist Stacy Rodgers, for a performance of music for tenor trombone, bass trombone, and euphonium in David H. Nutt Auditorium on the Ole Miss campus. This will be a challenging program, but preparing it thus far has been rewarding. Prof. Rodgers is a superb pianist, and so I expect it to be an enjoyable concert. Here is the program:

  • Paul Creston (1906-1985): Fantasy for Trombone
  • Benedykt Konowalski (b. 1928): Ecumenical Triptych for Trombone Solo
  • Robert Redhead (b. 1940): Euphony
  • Jan Koetsier (1911-2006): Andante Maestoso for Bass Trombone and Piano
  • Eric Ewazen (b. 1954): Concerto for Bass Trombone

Lord willing, I will provide some detailed program notes for this performance in my post here on February 8.

Friday, February 15: Mid-South Honor Band

No rest for the weary! Just four days after my first full recital at Ole Miss, I will be performing for visiting high school students during this year’s Mid-South Honor Band. Although this is subject to change, at present I am scheduled to both reprise my performance of the Concerto for Alto Trombone and Orchestra by Johann Georg Albrechtsberger (1736-1809), about which I wrote in a previous post, and perform Variations on The Carnival of Venice by Jean-Baptiste Arban (1825-1889) as euphonium soloist with the University of Mississippi Wind Ensemble. Happily, both of these pieces are very familiar to me, and so I am able to keep them on something of a “back burner” while focusing my attention upon the recital pieces listed above. Still, that makes for seven challenging solo works in five days—it will be a physically, mentally, and emotionally challenging week, for sure!

Thursday-Saturday, April 4-6: South-Central Regional Tuba-Euphonium Conference

As I mentioned in last week’s post, I will be presenting a lecture tentatively entitled “Preparing to teach ‘Low Brass’ at the College/University Level: A Primer for Tuba and Euphonium Players” at the South Central Regional Tuba-Euphonium Conference, which will be held at Louisiana State University. In addition to that presentation, I will likely serve as an adjudicator for one or more competitions to be held at the conference, and I might even perform a yet to be determined solo work. As you might imagine, given all of the activity that will be happening in mid-February, I haven’t given very much thought to this conference just yet!

Other Concerts and Events

The four events mentioned above constitute the core of my “big plans” for the semester, though there are a few more things “in the works.” The Mississippi Brass Quintet will perform another on-campus recital as well as a number of recruiting concerts, though neither the repertoire nor the dates for these concerts have been determined as yet. I also have yet to schedule on-campus performances for the trombone and tuba-euphonium ensembles, and would like to visit some area high schools with these groups, as well. Dr. John Schuesselin and I have discussed doing a joint recital later in the spring, with performances at area community colleges. While we have discussed repertoire for these, including duos for trumpet and trombone as well as trumpet and euphonium, our plans are still in a very early stage. Finally, I hope to take a couple of big projects in the summer, but since approvals and funding for these are still uncertain, I will refrain from discussing those here until I am more certain that these will indeed materialize.

This spring promises to be busy, but also rewarding. Check the events page on my website for schedule updates!

About Micah Everett

Micah Everett is Associate Professor of Music (Trombone/Low Brass) at the University of Mississippi, Principal Trombonist of the North Mississippi Symphony Orchestra, Bass Trombonist of the Great River Trombone Quartet, and Assistant Editor (Audio/Video Reviews) for the International Trombone Association Journal. He is the author of THE LOW BRASS PLAYER'S GUIDE TO DOUBLING, published by Mountain Peak Music, and released his first solo recording, STEPPING STONES FOR BASS TROMBONE, VOL. 1, on the Potenza Music label in 2015. In addition to his professional work, he maintains an avid interest in the study of the Bible and of Reformed theology. He holds doctoral and master's degrees in music from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, a bachelor's degree in music education from Delta State University, and a certificate in systematic theology from Puritan Reformed Theological Seminary. The opinions expressed here are solely those of Micah Everett, and are not necessarily shared by the employers and organizations with which he is associated.
This entry was posted in Alto Trombone, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Music, Performances, Repertoire, Tenor Trombone, Trombone. Bookmark the permalink.